Giving to Home of Hope India

I’ve been MIA from the blog over the past few weeks…we’ve had Mark’s aunt & cousin in town, I got sick a couple more times and we spent a week in wonderful Kerala. I’ll post more about the trip in the next few days but there is something more pressing I want to share.

We all have choices this time of year on how we want to give of our time and our wallets.  We’re tugged in dozens of directions and I’m giving you one more direction to think about – Home of Hope India.

This is the orphanage where I volunteered a couple of months ago and while my stay was short, my memories of the place will be long.  The Sisters have performed miracles with some of the most hopeless of orphans teaching them basic life skills, giving them an education, nourishing their spirits and bodies.  Paul Wilkes, Coordinator for Home of Hope India, wrote this article for the National Catholic Reporter which provides an excellent glimpse of the focus for the house.  I got to hang out with Swathi quite a bit and she is a bright and curious 8 year old…she can’t wait to use the computer one day!

Please help make the life of an orphan better.  You can donate any amount ($100 will feed the girls for an entire week) and it’s easy to give online – I just did!

Have a Merry Christmas and happy, healthy New Year!

Love,
Katie

Leave a comment